Truly Lovely Lemon Curd Cupcakes

IMG_0329

I’m not that much of a sweet tooth, and I kind of hate cupcakes. My hatred of cupcakes is partially due to the fact that people always expected me to love cupcakes. I am the friend that bakes, so naturally I love cupcakes, right? Wrong. I think they’re generally silly looking, boring tasting and not the most interesting way to fill one’s dessert space. Sorry, (not sorry) world.

With that disclaimer out of the way, I bring you lemon curd cupcakes. My parents moved recently, and my Mum secretly left some cupcake liners/patty pans for me, with my Aunty. So then I was in the unfortunate position of simply having to make cupcakes. These ones are special, and a great way to fill one’s dessert space. They’re also dairy free and gluten free, so by my estimation, we are winning. If you’re not keen on missing out on dairy and/or gluten, you can use regular flour and melted butter.

Lemon Curd

1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
3 tbsp margerine or butter

Take a small pot and fill with a little water – about a quarter full, bring to a light simmer. Place lemon juice, white sugar and margerine/butter in a small bowl that fits into the top of the pot. Put the bowl in the top of the pot and stir the ingredients as they gently melt.

Whisk egg and egg yolk together in a cup. Once the other ingredients are melted, drop a tablespoon of the melted mix into the eggs, and whisk together. Do this a couple more times to temper the eggs and prevent them from cooking. Now add the egg mixture to the bowl (which is still on the simmering pot), patiently stir the mixes together until the curd starts to thicken – it may take a little while. Once it’s thickened enough to coat the back of a spoon, take it off the heat.

Place in a clean jar in the fridge to cool while you make the cupcake mixture. It will thicken more as it cools.

Cupcakes

1 cup white rice flour or your preferred gf baking mix
1/2 cup almond meal
1/2 cup dessicated coconut
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup yoghurt (for dairy free, I used coconut milk diluted with water)
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1/4 + 1/8 cup rice bran oil
1/4 cup lemon juice (I used grapefruit juice because I had some left over)

Preheat oven to 180°c

Sift flour, baking soda and baking powder, and gently stir almond meal, sugar and coconut through.

In another bowl, whisk eggs, yoghurt, oil and lemon juice together.

Combine wet and dry ingredients, and spoon the mix into patty pans so that they are half full. Now place a teaspoon-ful of lemon curd in the centre of each patty pan, then spoon more mixture on the top of the curd. There should be enough mix for about 12 cupcakes. My patty pans are the strong kind that don’t need to be placed in muffin tins, but you may need to do this depending on your patty pans. Place on a shelf in the middle of the oven, baking for around 15-20 minutes, depending on your oven.

To serve, top with coconut cream, more lemon curd, and flaked almonds.

Leave a Reply

