Sunflower Sesame Crackers

I am vaguely obsessed with these crackers. Last year, my flatmate said, ‘hey, try these crackers I made – you can eat them!’ (I should note at this point that I can’t eat a lot of foods, but that’s not what this blog is about, this blog is about what I CAN eat). So I tried, and I was sold.

The recipe is so easy that my flatmate told me how to make it one time, and that was that.

You take a cup of sunflower seeds, cover them with cold water, and you soak them for about two hours. Next you drain them, pop them in a blender and blitz until they’re half way to smooth-ish. At this point you add a cup of sesame seeds and commence blending until the mixture is kind of doughy and smooth-ish (if you reach smooth, you’re well on your way to sunflower/sesame butter, which is great but not what we’re going for here). Most of the sesame seeds will still be whole, which is a nice effect. At this point, you need a good pinch of salt and a hefty amount of cracked black pepper if you’re that way inclined. You can also add herbs – rosemary is my choice (the rosemary bush at my house is clostest to the kitchen, which may or may not be a factor here).

Now you’re ready to roll them out. Non-stick baking paper is essential at this point. If you don’t have it, go and get some because otherwise you’ll end up with crackers that are practically soldered to the baking sheet. Yes, I speak from experience. Actually, if you have a silicone baking mat – lucky you, that is perfect for this. How you roll the crackers out is up to you – I’ve tried making one giant cracker that is broken into pieces once cooked, or patting out individual crackers. Both work equally well, so long as you go for a similar thickness so that they can cook evenly – I am for about 2-5mm, give or take.

Place them in a preheated oven, at about 150°c for 20-30 minutes. You want them to dry out and maybe brown a little for flavour (but not too much). Once they’re done, you’re all set snack-wise. They have a lovely nutty flavour, pack a bit of protein to keep you going and pair nicely with some cheese and pear, or pesto, or even marmite.

Leave a Reply

